Get Involved!

I'd like to:
(check all that apply)

Members of the Commission on the Humanities
and Social Sciences


Richard H. Brodhead, President, Duke University
John W. Rowe, retired Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Exelon Corporation


Danielle S. Allen, Professor of Political Science, Institute for Advanced Study
Kwame Anthony Appiah, Professor of Philosophy and of Law, New York University
Norman R. Augustine, retired Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Lockheed Martin Corporation
Robert M. Berdahl, former President, Association of American Universities
Leslie C. Berlowitz, Cambridge, MA
Robert J. Birgeneau, Chancellor Emeritus, University of California, Berkeley
Philip Bredesen, former Governor of Tennessee
David Brooks, Journalist, The New York Times
Louise H. Bryson, Chair Emerita, J. Paul Getty Trust
Ken Burns, Director and Producer, Florentine Films
Tom Campbell, Dean, Chapman University School of Law; former U.S. Representative from California
Francisco Cigarroa, Chancellor, University of Texas System
G. Wayne Clough, Secretary, Smithsonian Institution
James Cuno, President and Chief Executive Officer, J. Paul Getty Trust
Gerald Early, Professor of Modern Letters, Washington University in St. Louis
Karl W. Eikenberry, former U.S. Ambassador to Afghanistan; retired U.S. Army Lieutenant General; Fellow in International Security, Stanford University
Drew Gilpin Faust, President, Harvard University
Roger W. Ferguson, Jr., President and Chief Executive Officer, TIAA-CREF
Richard B. Freeman, Professor of Economics, Harvard University
Dana Gioia, Professor of Poetry and Public Culture, University of Southern California; former Chairman, National Endowment for the Arts
Annette Gordon-Reed, Professor of Law, Professor of History, and Professor at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University
Anthony Grafton, Professor of History, Princeton University
Amy Gutmann, President, University of Pennsylvania
Emmylou Harris, Musician/Songwriter
Robert M. Hauser, Executive Director, Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education, National Research Council, National Academy of Sciences
F. Warren Hellman †, Cofounder, Hellman & Friedman LLC
John L. Hennessy, President, Stanford University
Jill A. Hornor, Director, Sound Postings, LLC
Kathleen Hall Jamieson, Professor of Communication; Director, Annenberg Public Policy Center, University of Pennsylvania
Rev. John I. Jenkins, President, University of Notre Dame
Steven Knapp, President, The George Washington University
John Lithgow, Actor
George Lucas, Producer, Screenwriter, Director, Skywalker Properties, Ltd.
Yo-Yo Ma, Musician
Carolyn “Biddy” Martin, President, Amherst College
Anthony W. Marx, President, The New York Public Library
James McNerney, Chairman, President, and Chief Executive Officer, Boeing Company
Eduardo J. Padrón, President, Miami Dade College
Carl H. Pforzheimer III, Manager, Carl H. Pforzheimer and Co. LLC
Earl A. Powell III, Director, National Gallery of Art
Hunter R. Rawlings III, President, Association of American Universities
John Sexton, President, New York University
Donna E. Shalala, President, University of Miami; former U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services
David J. Skorton, President, Cornell University
David Souter, former Associate Justice, Supreme Court of the United States
Eric Sundquist, Professor of English, Johns Hopkins University
Billie Tsien, Architect, Tod Williams Billie Tsien Architects
Charles M. Vest †, President Emeritus, National Academy of Engineering
John E. Warnock, Chairman of the Board, Adobe Systems, Inc.
Diane P. Wood, Federal Judge, United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit
Pauline Yu, President, American Council of Learned Societies